Must spend less!

Ok, a confession to start with! I am guilty at times of spending way too much on food shopping! With a baby on the way, and maternity pay looming, hubby and I need to cut back on our food spending. And what better way to stay on track than my neglected blog!

I have put together our new ‘preparing for baby’ budget (basically saving as much money as we can!) and need to try and get food spending down to an average of £40 per week. I have a few methods for doing this:

  • Stop eating out and ordering takeaways! Simple really 🙂
  • Meal planning
  • Making shopping lists and sticking to them
  • Batch cooking for lazy days!
  • Using up leftovers

Sounds easy doesn’t it! I’ll be posting about my progress with this challenge on the blog. Day 1 of the challenge is Sunday and this month is a 5 shop month (based on the number of weekends between pay days).

Over the weekend I will produce a meal plan and shopping list for the week and share it with you. Now I just need some yummy ideas for quick, cheap and healthy meals to get me going.

Off to scour some recipe websites (and blogs of course!).

I’ll be back later today with an update on my 20 week scan this week!

Oh, and before I go I want to say a huge GODD LUCK to Leah at Simply Fabulous Now who is sitting at home waiting for her labour to start!

Signature

2 responses to “Must spend less!

  1. Oh I know what you mean about the food shopping! But it is even harder with pregnancy cravings & tiredness. Still, it is quite doable and it can be fun figuring out the challenge. Meal planning is indeed essential!

  2. Aw thanks so much for the well wishes!

Leave a Reply

