Bloggers Question Time – Sweet and Sweat

Welcome to another Bloggers Question time post. My target this time is Melinh from Sweet and Sweat

IMG_2938

Melinh has only been blogging for a few weeks so why not visit her over at Sweets and Sweats and give her some support?

1) How long have you been blogging and what made you start?

I started February of 2010, so this month! Honestly, I’ve been hooked on reading food blogs for a year now. I started reading Eat Like Me on self.com and wanted to read more. So then I found eatliverun and then it was an avalanche of amazing food blogs that I began to read. I always wanted to start one to document not only what I eat but the food I come up with (I have found many different ways to cook bananas and whole wheat flour) and my everyday life. I want to look back and know what I was thinking/eating my college years. 🙂

2) How would you describe your blog?

It’s probably the munchies and musings of a coming to age girl. That’s as intellectually sound as I can get to describing it! But, since I’ve only had a few posts, I’ll say that it’s new, refreshing, and changing.

3) What is your food philosophy?

Probably this: Eat your vegetables AND your cake. I don’t like limits or restrictions, that could be because I am young and ‘rebellious’ but I love dessert and sweets and fries and all things bad. But I definitely think balance is key to healthy eating.

4) What is the one food you could not live without?

This is a hard question. Probably potatoes. Potatoes are so versatile and I love every single dish with one.

5) Have you ever had a weight issue and if so how did you overcome it?

Yes I did. The Freshman 15. Ugh. I actually gained 10 pounds and for a person who is only 5’2” it definitely showed. I didn’t care much for the weight gain but other people would remark on it and I definitely became insecure. So, I started to revise my eating. I used to eat three bowls of Reeces Pieces for breakfast but then I switched to oatmeal. Little changes but now I make sure I get a serving of a fruit/vegetable for lunch and dinner.

6) What meal would best sum up your approach to eating?

Brown rice with eggplants, tofu, seitan and garlic naan with strawberries for dessert.

7) What is your fitness regime?

I do four days of cardio and 1 day of yoga. The four days consist of one bike ride and three runs consisting of 3ish miles each. I love how I feel from running. Also, Berkeley’s campus is big so I walk around a lot.

8) What is the biggest physical challenge you have faced?

Asthma. I was so scared I would get an attack and die from suffocation! But I control it and I am careful and I try not to push myself.

9) What is your favourite blog to read?

I enjoy reading many but I love eatliverun! She’s young and lives in California like me!

10) What is the best piece of advice you have ever been given?

Just Breathe. Once I took that to heart, it was easier to deal with the many struggles I’ve had. 🙂

Thanks for taking part Melinh!

If you want to be part of Bloggers Question Time please send me an email atseekinghealthybalance@gmail.com!

2 responses to “Bloggers Question Time – Sweet and Sweat

  1. This is great! Thank you!

  2. Pingback: Running with a Bite « Sweet and Sweat

Leave a Reply

