An Overnight Success!

Well this weekend was one of the busiest I have had in a long time! I had a great time with my family and we did loads of cool things with the 5 year old including a farm, zoo, baking and loads of playing!

My eats weren’t too bad in the end and last night when I jumped on the scales I was thrilled to see I have lost another 2lbs! This brings me up to a total of 6lbs since Christmas. I plan to smash the first half stone this week.

I was delighted when I saw this as I had assumed that I would have put on based on my weekend of entertaining. But as hubby and I talked it through I realised that I had made good choices through the weekend. Sure there were treats, but there was also balance (and exercise – chasing after the 5 year old!)

For example, on Saturday night we had a buffet style cold meat and salad dinner. There was quite a spread to choose from but I started filling my plate at the salad end and just added a slice of turkey, slice of ham and a small piece of quiche to my plate at the end. This helped me to get the balance right between treats and the healthy salad. And for dessert, I dug into the sugar free jelly I had made for the 5 year old with some fruit and a taste of icecream!

After they left yesterday we spent the day washing bedding and towels, moving beds back and tidying up. It was a great day and gave us a chance to relax ready for work today.

Last night I decided to get organised and try out an idea that I have seen so many of my favourite bloggers rave about! I made overnight oats.

In the mix last night was a bit under ½ cup of oats, ½ cup of Total 0% Greek yogurt, ½ cup skimmed milk and a sliced banana. I mixed this well and added a generous sprinkle of cinnamon.

DSC02711

This morning I added a splash of milk to thin it slightly and packed it up to eat at work. I really loved this and was able to eat it really slowly at my desk. I find that when I eat hot oats I eat them fast before they start to cool so this was a great alternative. While doing my Monday morning reporting at the same time, I made these last over half an hour!

Here are the stats on my recipe. This made a substantial, filling brekkie that kept my full until lunch.

image

For my first attempt I kept the flavours simple but next time I am looking forward to mixing it up a bit (thinking coconut, blueberries, dried fruit…)

Let me know what you add to your overnight oats!

Signature

Leave a Reply

