Leftovers Rule!

Don’t forget to enter my Giveaway for a chance to win Linwoods Milled Superfood samples!

Yep, Sunday was just as exciting as I made it sound in yesterdays post!

We headed out in the afternoon to buy a new curtain pole to show off our new lounge curtains.

But first lunch!

I used the leftover tortilla wraps and refried beans from Friday night to make Quesadillas! I also added chicken, salsa and mozzarella to the mix.

His n hers!!

DSC02608

I ate the one on the right cut into wedges and served with cucumber slices and carrot sticks!

DSC02609

Why have I never tried refried beans in a Quesadilla before?? It was delicious, especially with loads of salsa in. I love eating leftovers – it gives me a sense of satisfaction to know that nothing is wasted!

After eating this we headed out to do our shopping. On the way back we called in at the in-laws to check the house while they are away and then called in at the farm shop for a cuppa!

I had a pot of tea and a few bites of this Victoria Sandwich cake shared with the husband.

photo

Love sharing food with the husband! Oh and that elephant on my saucer is a little wafer biscuit that I ate too!

Back at home, I did some more chores (putting up the new curtain rail, ironing etc) before heading to the kitchen to prepare dinner.

The husband really fancied pasta with a creamy sauce so I made up this dish with what I found in the fridge!

The sauce was some Light Philadelphia cheese with Basil, melted down with a splash of milk. Then I added some cooked chicken and bacon, sweetcorn, salt and pepper and mixed with cooked pasta. I served this with a slice of garlic bread and an unpictured salad

DSC02612

Loved this for a quick and easy pasta sauce. I’m sure there are loads of variations I could try too!

I think I’m going to have a bit of a pasta overload this week. Mondays dinner was already planned to be Spaghetti Bolognaise and I decided to stick with it.

I used this basic recipe but chucked in half a tin of sweetcorn left over from last night. The Husband was late home from work tonight which meant I had time to leave the sauce simmering away for an extra half an hour which improved the flavour – I think the longer you can leave it the better!

Served tonight with spaghetti, frozen spinach and a sprinkle of cheese.

DSC02614

The stats for the sauce are:

image

Not too shabby!

My recipe made 4 servings so I have 2 left for later in the week. I’ll try and think of a different way to serve it.

Signature

4 responses to “Leftovers Rule!

  1. I love leftovers too and I totally think of new ways to use whatever I made so I don’t get sick of it. I just love how quick they are to heat up and make 🙂

  2. Wow that looks good! Wanna cook for me? I’m a microwave it cook lol

  3. In my opinion, one can never have too many pastas!! Esp since it can marry itself in so many different ways!
    Leftovers always rule when used in creative ways! 🙂

  4. I completely agree with pasta – there’s never too much pasta ;). For some reason it’s not so popular in the blog world. Blah! They’re missing out! 😉
    Thanks for the cramy spaghetti recipe! I love me some creamy pasta but it’s mostly way too unhealthy.

Leave a Reply

