Bloggers Question Time – Thinspired

I am really excited to present the first Bloggers Question Time post. The first featured blog is one of my favourites! Thinspired was one of the first blogs I found and I was so excited to find another blogger in the UK. Alas, since then Lara has moved back to California but her blog is still one of my top reads.

Read on to find out more about Lara, her blogging history and learn her Grandmother’s words of wisdom!

IMG_0931

1) How long have you been blogging and what made you start?

Technically I began blogging in March 2008. Back then the blog was a strict photo diary of what I ate, and I did not publicize the blog in any way. I was merely looking to keep track of what I ate to lose weight for my wedding in June. Slowly it evolved as I lost weight, and by Fall 2008, it was fully public.

2) How would you describe your blog?

At the moment my blog is a combination of the original food diary format, but it has also become a lot more varied in what I write about. I do recipe features, discuss my struggles with weight maintenance, and just chronicle my daily life a lot more.

3) What is your food philosophy?

Nothing is off limits, but nothing is unlimited. Enjoy what you eat and eat as much real, whole food as you can!

4) What is the one food you could not live without?

Rice! I grew up having it every night as a child, and though I eat it a lot less often now, I could never do without it.

5) Have you ever had a weight issue and if so how did you overcome it?

I started putting on weight in my teens, and it reached an all-time high when I was about 16. I lost 30 lbs that year and was at a healthy weight from age 17 until my third year of college. Something happened then and I put 15 lbs back on!

After graduation, I moved to the UK and slowly took that weight off, and then some. I did it all the old-fashioned way: diet and exercise. You can read more about my weight loss history on my blog here.

6) What meal would best sum up your approach to eating?

Dinner is my favorite meal of the day, and I always try to make it balanced. I like to think that that is representative of how I like to eat. Salmon, brown rice, broccoli, and a big salad is a very typical meal for me. I can’t do healthy unless it’s also delicious.

7) What is your fitness regime?

Hmmm, I’m not sure I would say I have a “regime”! Exercise does not come as naturally to me as eating does!

I try to workout a few days a week. It can be as little as three or as many as six. I am a gym rat because it’s easy and dependable. I’m a cardio girl by nature but I’m trying to incorporate more strength training to build muscle!

8) What is the biggest physical challenge you have faced?

When I first started running earlier this year, I signed up for a 10k without being sufficiently trained. It was too big of bite for someone who was just starting! It went well in the end but it was a huge challenge for me at the time.

9) What is your favourite blog to read?

It is hard to pick a favorite nowadays with so many wonderful blogs springing up every day! I will always have a special place in my heart for “Eat Like Me,” at Self.com. It was the first blog I ever read, and the only one I knew about for quite a while. It completely changed the way I approached eating.

10) What is the best piece of advice you have ever been given?

My grandma would always tell me, “It’s not what you eat; it’s how much you eat of it.” I am a self-confessed volume eater, but when I am indulging in treats, I try to remember her words. She was slender all of her life!

Thanks for being my first volunteer Lara!

If you want to be part of Bloggers Question Time please send me an email at seekinghealthybalance@gmail.com!

8 responses to “Bloggers Question Time – Thinspired

  1. Great interview. Lara, you know I love you, and I get it…all your struggles are my struggles too. Your grandma sounds like one smart lady…was it her fried rice recipe I butchered? 😉

    Thanks for the interview Jo!

  2. I always enjoy reading more about all y’all cool bloggers. 🙂

  3. Thank you for this opportunity, Jo! Looking forward to reading your other blogger interviews.

  4. I always enjoy reading Lara’s thoughts on her blog and this interview was no different, but I wish she wouldn’t focus so much on thinness and being slender, etc. She is a gorgeous woman and an engaging writer. Pounds don’t matter after that.

  5. Pingback: Review: Bora Bora Bars | Thinspired

  6. Great post!! I really enjoyed this interview and am so with her on #4 – rice is my alltime, hands down favorite food! I also really like her grandma’s advice! 🙂

  7. I love Grandmothers – they have the best wisdom!

  8. Love this interview, Thinny! Yes, Grandmas are smart. She was so right. Ah the struggles, yes. You know I’m there. We are all sisters in arms! 🙂

    You are the total Interview queen! 🙂

Leave a Reply

