Christmas Countdown

46 days until Christmas!

Yesterday I stepped on the scales for the first time since my wedding in September – I got a bit of a shock. I currently weigh 9lbs more than I did on my wedding day. I shouldn’t be surprised – there have been far too many treats and meals out, cosy bottles of wine in front of a DVD and creeping portion sizes.

I’ll fill you in on a little background. 2 1/2 years ago, at my heaviest I weighed 16 stone. Over the following 18 months I lost 4 stone to get down to just over 12 stone. At this point I went Wedding Dress shopping and found the perfect dress. The size I tried on in the store (UK 12) was a perfect fit and the cut meant that it emphasised my slimmer top half and hit the problem areas of my bum and legs. I was in love with the dress and happy with how it looked at that size so I made a decision to stop and maintain until after the wedding. Instead I focused on toning my arms and developing a healthier diet to improve my skin and hair.

It worked. When I went for my first fitting some 7 months later the dress was still a perfect fit and I maintained that weight until my wedding day.

So back to today. 9 weeks since the wedding and 9 lbs heavier (eek!). The plan was always to crack on and lose the remaining weight after the wedding so I would like to lose around 2 stone to get me into my healthy weight range.

How shall I do this?

Well I have been thinking this over all weekend. I hope that I have learned enough about eating healthily to do this without resorting to counting every morsel that I eat by calories or points. I will focus on healthy foods, minimal snacking and increased exercise to get rid of the last of my excess weight.

I plan to weigh in weekly and will post my progress here. Christmas is a great incentive for me so I’m starting my Christmas Countdown today.

Day 1:

Weigh in 1 – 181lbs

Food Diary

  • Breakfast: Greek yogurt and cereal. Tea with milk
  • Snack: Handful of crisps
  • Lunch: Roll with roast chicken, lettuce, tomato & cucumber, grapes
  • Snack: Apple, tea with milk. Baby Bel Light
  • Dinner: Chicken Casserole, small wholemeal bread roll
  • Snack: 2 snack size Milky Ways (damn Halloween!)
One response to “Christmas Countdown

  1. Hi there! I saw your tweet and wanted to come see how you are doing! I can completely understand the newlywed weight gain. In fact I did a post called the Newlywed 15 because that’s exactly how much I gained the first few years (each) of my marriage!

    You will get it back off. Being aware of it is half the battle. I kept ignoring my ever expanding waistline hoping it would magically disappear!

    By the way – congrats on your September wedding!

Leave a Reply

