Bonfire Night

First some updates:

Bloggers Question Time (BQT)

Thanks to everyone who has shown interest in Bloggers Question Time – I’ll email you all later with more details and hopefully the first post will be up soon!

If any other bloggers out there are interested please drop me an email – the more the merrier!

Blog-4-Cause

If you haven’t already supported Blog-4-Cause why not check it out now? This fantastic e-book features over 150 articles from top bloggers covering a range of topics.

Click here to buy a copy and support this great cause!

****************************************

Back to business…

Last night I made this fab recipe idea from Fitness and Spice.

DSC02196 DSC02197

I have made similar quiches before but never with yogurt as the dairy ingredient. I broke from the recipe a little based on what veg I had in and only used 6 eggs as that’s all I had. The result was really good. I think next time I would like to try it with some spinach in (I used red pepper and sweetcorn which is what I had in and it needed a stronger flavour). I would also use a lot more pepper next time but the texture was great. I’m enjoyed a cold slice of this with my lunch.

Bonfire Night

Tonight is Guy Fawkes Night – also known as Bonfire Night or Firework Night – in the UK. The 5th November marks the anniversary of the Gunpowder Plot in 1605 when Catholic conspirators (including Guy Fawkes) attempted to blow up the Houses of Parliament in London during the State Opening of Parliament. The plot was intended to kill King James and many of the Protestant aristocracy but failed when Guy Fawkes was caught.

The customs in the UK centre on firework displays and bonfires. In the past most families would set off their own fireworks in their gardens but due to safety concerns this is less common and many people (us included) prefer to attend a professionally organised event.

The two best things about Guy Fawkes Night are Toffee Apples and Sparklers!

We headed to a big local display with friends

DSC02210 DSC02215

Sorry for the terrible photos! We had a great time even though the weather was a bit iffy! It kept spitting with rain and it was really muddy on the field.

We ended the evening with sparklers in the garden!!

DSC02234 Happy Bonfire Night!

Leave a Reply

