Who didn’t set the alarm??

Happy Monday!

Unfortunately when I went to bed last night I forgot to turn the alarm clock back on for the working week – oops! That left us in a bit of a rush to get out the door and I ended up being 10 minutes late arriving at work. It would have been a lot worse if we hadn’t started to prepare our lunches the night before!

My food bag contained Special K for breakfast, pretzels as a snack and a tuna sandwich and apple for lunch.

We had a really busy and productive weekend of sorting wedding presents and boxing up some items we no longer need (they’ll be off to the charity shop later this week). We also managed to complete a job we have been putting off for many months… we put up some shelves in the kitchen!!

DSC02178

It didn’t go without a hitch – I’m not sure DIY is our strong point – but at least we managed to get them up. What do you think?

I’ve been trying to organise the kitchen lately and keep the surfaces as clear as possible (clutter breeds clutter in our house!). Tonight I managed to sort out a cupboard and clear a space to keep the new toaster (another wedding gift!)

Before:

DSC02179 After:

DSC02189

Much better!

Having finally completed the last of our thank you cards I decided to get the kitchen table back to its natural state rather than the workstation it has been for the last few weeks!

Before:

DSC02181

After:

DSC02184

(Loving the before and after shots!) I love how this looks now! The table runner and vase were both wedding gifts – aren’t they beautiful?

For the first time in ages I made one of our favourites for dinner – a chilli con cane. In fact I can’t believe I haven’t posted the recipe before. Look out for a step by step recipe post soon but in the meantime here is a sneak peak! I served the chilli with rice and sour cream.

DSC02190

Off to do some ironing and make sure my alarm is set for the morning 🙂 See you later!

Leave a Reply

