Getting Organised

I need to get organised.

Since our wedding in September I have felt so disorganised (maybe it’s a reaction against having to be so organised in the run up to the day!).

Confession time… my house is a mess – the spare room looks like its been hit by a wedding whirlwind (I guess it was.. 🙂 ), the spare bed still has the remains of the honeymoon on it and I’ve neglected writing my thank you cards 😦

I spent an hour last night using Google Tasks to put together a to-do list broken down into manageable chunks for the next week. Look how organised I am!

DSC02152

I love writing to-do lists and checking things off as I do it! It’s a great solution when you have a million things swimming around in your head!

*****************************************

Friday Recap…

Its been an interesting week at work with a lot of speculation on some big changes that are happening for us all. But in truth we don’t know much more than we did at the start of the week and I find all the speculation really frustrating! That was the main reason that I am happy the working week is over.

The awful weather conditions don’t help either – its been foggy, wet and windy all day. I guess winter is well and truly on its way 😦

Last weekend at my in-laws house we were sent away with the remains of a cheese platter we had broken into for tea. Its still staring at me in the fridge so I decided that dinner should be based on using some up!

DSC02147

I selected the local Devon blue (top left) and used it as the inspiration for a Quorn and pasta dish.

*****************************************

Tomato, Blue Cheese and Quorn Pasta

DSC02150

Ingredients:

  • Wholemeal pasta
  • Quorn chicken style pieces
  • Tomato sauce
  • Baby spinach
  • Devon blue cheese (or any other blue cheese)
  • Spray oil
  • Black pepper

Method:

  • Put the pasta on to boil for 12 minutes or according to packet
  • Add a little spray oil to a pan and add the Quorn pieces. Fry for 4 minutes to colour.
  • Add the tomato sauce (with a little water if too thick) and simmer for 3-4 minutes.
  • Stir in the baby spinach and allow to wilt.
  • Crumble in most of the blue cheese, add black pepper and the cooked, drained pasta. Stir until the pasta is evenly coated.
  • Serve in warmed bowls with the remaining blue cheese sprinkled on top

DSC02151This was really tasty & filling. I made quite a lot so there is another serving in the fridge for leftovers!

*****************************************

Grocery Spending Challenge Update

With 12 days left until pay day, I’m really pleased to report that we are doing really well against our Grocery Challenge!

Total spent (22/09 – 21/10) £79.17

Now, what to do with the money we are saving?? 🙂

*****************************************

Good TV night tonight – I’ll be watching Benidorm and Peep Show. Two of my favourite British comedies at the moment. Might sample some kind of alcoholic drink too! I’ll let you know tomorrow 🙂

We have some fun plans for the weekend involving a Rugby match and some family time! See you tomorrow…

2 responses to “Getting Organised

  1. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for Getting Organised « Seeking Healthy Balance [seekinghealthybalance.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Eggs for breakfast « Seeking Healthy Balance

Leave a Reply

