I beat the Kit Kat & Tuna Pasta Recipe

Today saw a momentous achievement in my journey towards a healthy relationship with food. On my desk this morning was a mint chocolate Kit Kat, a yummy little 2 finger wafer bar coated in minty chocolate. Uh-oh I thought. By 11am this morning my breakfast was a distant memory and the Kit Kat was calling my name. So I opened it. And I broke the bar into 4. And took out one quarter and wrapped the bar back up. I enjoyed the taste of the bar and savoured it but was happy to stop there. The rest of the bar sat on my desk and was enjoyed mid afternoon with a coffee.

So why was this momentous? Well usually I seem to be completely unable to stop eating something halfway through. I eat everything that I dish up on my plate. I can’t eat a bag of sweets or chocolate or fruit or seeds slowly. I chomp it all down until it is gone. And I can’t eat half a bar of chocolate. Yesterdays Jo would have eaten the whole bar and then eaten something else in the afternoon. That would be twice as much food for no more satisfaction. Yes you could argue I should have given the chocolate away and eaten a cereal bar instead but that’s not the point for me. I recognised that I could have a taste and still be satisfied. That, my friends, is progress!

Do you have any problems knowing when to stop and managing portion control?

************************************************

I tweeted earlier that I was thinking about tuna pasta for tea and Lara@Thinspired replied asking me to post the recipe if I did. Well the weather today was so cold and wet that a nice warming, comforting bowl of pasta was very appealing!

Tuna Pasta Bake

DSC00928Ingredients

Wholegrain pasta

Tinned Tuna

Pasta Sauce

Passata (not pictured)

Red Pepper

Spinach

Grated cheddar cheese

Spicy breadcrumb topping

I use this pasta sauce from Tesco when I want a quick solution.

DSC00926Yes its a kids pasta sauce (and yes that is Mickey Mouse on the jar! I like the jar size for the two of us. Take a look at the ingredients

DSC00927Nothing too scary in there!

So back to the recipe….

  1. Put the pasta on to boil.
  2. Fry the pepper in a pan with a little spray oil.
  3. When the pepper has started to soften, add the pasta sauce, passata and tuna.
  4. Simmer for a couple of minutes and stir in the spinach until it wilts.
  5. Drain the pasta and mix into the sauce.
  6. Pour into a casserole dish and sprinkle over the breadcrumbs and cheese.
  7. Bake in the oven for 15 minutes until the topping is golden brown.

DSC00925

I ate mine with a couple of slices of garlic ciabatta.

DSC00923Yummy!! And even better I have leftovers for tomorrow!!

************************************************

I was recently given the chance to try out an Online Food Hygiene Certificate through Virtual College.co.uk.

Badge

I think that the course will be really interesting as I haven’t really thought about food hygiene since school! I’ll let you know how I get on. Its an online course and can be done in stages so I will try and fit it in over the next couple of weeks.

One response to “I beat the Kit Kat & Tuna Pasta Recipe

  1. Looks great! I’ve never seen that Tesco sauce before but I’m a sucker for anything Disney related so I will definitely be looking for it now 😉
    Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

