Recipe Idea – Blue Macaroni Cheese with Spinach

A few days ago I had a real craving for some comfort food and thought instantly of macaroni cheese – a childhood favourite! But I knew I wanted to jazz it up a bit so here is what I came up with:

Blue Macaroni Cheese with spinach

DSC00886

I started with a simple white sauce (butter, flour and milk) and while this was thickening I cooked the macaroni. When the sauce was ready I stirred in some grated cheddar and leftover blue cheese. I also wilted some baby spinach and squeezed out all the liquid.

When everything was ready I mixed it all together in a pan and poured into a dish. On top I sprinkled some breadcrumbs to provide a bit of crunch and chucked in the oven for 20 minutes until the topping was crispy.

Serve with garlic bread – yummy!!

One response to “Recipe Idea – Blue Macaroni Cheese with Spinach

  1. Wow what a great recipe idea! Would work well with broccoli and/or mushrooms and some pine nuts I would imagine. Loooove blue cheese.

Leave a Reply

