Random eats

Happy Friday everyone! Boy am I glad the working week is done – Β this weekend couldn’t come soon enough for me πŸ™‚

This week has been a bit of a whirlwind and I found myself reverting to old habits as my eating became increasingly disordered. Its funny, but as much as I can understand what is happening in those frantic moments when I raid the cupboards or head to the vending machine at work, I feel powerless to stop myself. As I write that I realise that it sounds silly – of course I have control and responsibility for my own actions. One thing I have reminded myself of this week is that eating like that doesn’t make me feel any better and it certainly doesn’t help me to deal with the stress any better 😦 I have started reading Intuitive Eating and I guess I have to treat these phases as a learning experience and move on. Tomorrow is another day!

Here are a few selected eats from the last couple of days:

Thursday lunch – ham salad sandwich, carrots and smoked paprika hummus.

DSC00717

Thursday tea: Curry leftovers

Out of the fridge…..
DSC00718And on the plate!

DSC00719

This tasted even better second time around πŸ™‚

Friday Dinner @ Pizza Express

I ordered the Vitabella, one of their new range of Leggera pizzas.

PizzaExpress has created an entirely new kind of pizza. It’s called Leggera, pronounced Lay-jer-ah, which means ‘light’ in Italian. It has a hole in the middle, and a salad in the hole.

Each one is designed to be about 500 calories, meaning that you can enjoy a tasty pizza without even the slightest pang of guilt.

My pizza with a hole(!) was topped with mozzerella, peppers, roasted veg and asparagus spears!

PE3Thats mine at the front. Can you see the hole in it with a green salad in the middle? At the back you can see h2b’s giant chicken pizza (I had a taste of course πŸ™‚ ). I really enjoyed the pizza and the toppings were yummy and light.

I decided to have a pudding too. The Caffe Reale,

Baby figs in a cinnamon and white wine spiced syrup with a dollop of mascarpone and served with a standard coffee of your choice.

PE1I’ve never seen such tiny figs! This was a nice sweet ending to the meal served with an Americano coffee. The baby figs were delicious and the syrup complemented them perfectly. I also had a taste of h2b’s chocolate fudge cake!

PE2Doesn’t that look amazing!

Now settled down in front of the tv watching highlights from Glastonbury! Have a good evening πŸ™‚

5 responses to “Random eats

  1. ohhh i’ve been wanting to try that new dish they have in pizza express!! it’s a great idea πŸ˜€ the dessert looks lovely, i know for a fact that the fudge cake they have there is oohhhhhh so sinfully good πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ yum!

    i really do understand about disordered behaviour rearing its ugly head in stressful times. you seem very aware of your own thoughts and reactions though, no doubt you can get through the bad patches πŸ™‚

  2. I completely understand your disordered eating. That is me in a nutshell. You are so right in saying it doesn’t help with stress, in fact I would argue it contributes to stress and makes you feel worse. It’s a daily challenge and like you I work on it πŸ™‚

    Your curry looks fantastic! But that pizza looks even better!! I love the concept! πŸ™‚

    Have a great night!

  3. That pizza place looks awesome! I’d love to find low-cal pizza around here!

  4. jocelynsteiber

    Hey there– I’m the exact same way with the disordered eating. I know whats healthy and what I should be doing bt sometimes I go off on a tangent and can’t control myself! But you’re completely right in the thinking that tomorrow is a new day. I’ve finally learned that even though I messed up one day doesn’t have to mean it’s going to be a bad week! I just started a nutrition/wellness blog and I’m new to this whole world. Check it out and let me know what you think : )

    http://peacelovenutrition.wordpress.com/

  5. I still haven’t tried those new pizzas at Pizza Express yet! The menu looks so cool–I love the concept of a salad AND a pizza πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

