Banana Bread and Curry

Ever since I read Leahs post last week where she made some delicious looking banana bread I knew I had to make some! I had the bananas sat in the fruit bowl for days waiting for them to become perfectly over-ripe. Am I the only person who buys bananas and deliberately leaves them until they are going black? All my favourite uses for bananas (cakes, muffins, smoothies) benefit from over-ripe bananas! 🙂

Like Leah, I followed this recipe with a couple of adjustments. I used 3 bananas as that was all I had. After I had started the recipe I realised I was missing a couple of ingredients so I improvised. Instead of low fat yogurt I used 1/2 cup Total 0% mixed with skimmed milk and at the last minute I discovered I had no eggs so I left them out. The recipe seemed to work alright without. I made a loaf and with the leftover I filled some cute heart shaped tins

DSC00709

So breakfast this morning had to include a slice! I had the rest of the Tropicana smoothie from Sunday with a thick slice of banana bread

DSC00708

The cake was really yummy, moist and full of banana flavour!

When I posted my menu plan for the week I really thought it was accurate but I guess its just typical that it ended up changing as soon as I posted it! Sunday became a meal out with a friend, and Mondays curry ended up being todays dinner.

I made a Chicken Curry with rice and naan bread

DSC00707I fried some diced chicken in spray oil until cooked and added chopped onion, pepper, mange tout and sugarsnap peas. Once the veggies had started to soften I added a shop bought Tikka Massala sauce and simmered for 20 minutes. Meanwhile I cooked the rice and heated the naan bread. Right at the end before serving I stirred through a large handful of baby spinach until wilted and then served. I ate the plate above and a couple of extra pieces of bread! This was a really tasty meal and we really enjoyed it. And the best part is that we have leftovers for tomorrow (so another day we won’t follow the menu plan!!).

After dinner we decided to make the most of the beautiful sunshine and headed out for a walk. We have found a great circular walk that we can do from home, its about 2 miles so just a nice walk after dinner. We really enjoyed the chance to walk and talk and catch up on each others day.

Off to catch up on blog reading and see some tv.  See you tomorrow!

6 responses to “Banana Bread and Curry

  1. LOVE the look of that curry. I adore all things curry. Curry could be my middle name.

    😉 And of course, what good is curry w/o a nice piece of Naan on the side!

  2. Yum I love banana bread!!

  3. So glad you enjoyed the banana bread! I need to make more sometime 🙂

  4. I LOVE banana bread! yours looks absolutely fantastic

  5. Ahh! I am in love with the heart-shaped banana bread! I have a heart plate that I treasure. Next up are cake pans like that! They look great and so professional!

Leave a Reply

