Green Monster and pizza – bliss!!

What a miserable Saturday we have had 😦

I woke up this morning to thunder and lightning. This was the view from the house

DSC00624

😦 Thankfully I had a few things lined up for today to take my mind off the depressing weather, although I got a bit wet in the process! I had a hair appointment this morning so I had to be out of the house before 10. So for breakfast I decided to try my first….. Green Monster!!!! Having seen sightings of green monsters all over the blog world recently I was keen to jump on the bandwagon πŸ™‚ All credit to Angela for the idea and inspiration πŸ™‚

For my first GM I stuck to a simple recipe
DSC00627

1 cup unsweetened Alpro soya milk

1 banana

1 large handful of spinach

4 ice cubes

Chuck it all in the blender and blitz!!

Here it is in the glass, I was so excited when it went bright green πŸ™‚

DSC00625

I tried it with trepidation, but actually it was yummy!! I don’t know why I doubted it cos all my favourite bloggers seem to love them – sorry for doubting you! You really cannot taste the spinach in it, it tasted like a yummy banana smoothie. I was also sceptical that it would keep me full all morning but I stayed satisfied til lunch. After my trim I headed into town for a bit of shopping and to meet a friend for lunch. One of the fun errands I had was to book an appointment for Friday for my first wedding dress fitting! I am excited and nervous at the same time about it. I hope it looks as nice as I remember!

My friend and I went to a coffee shop for lunch – mozzerella, tomato and basil pannini with a cup of tea. After a long lunch and a lot of chatting I did a bit more shopping and then headed home. I felt a bit guilty that H2B had been left home alone all day so I stopped at the deli for a treat
DSC00622

On the left is his Triple Chocolate brownie and on the right, my lemon polenta square. I ate half with a cup of tea. Then we played on a new fitness game for the Nintendo Wii that we bought. I will do a review in a few days when I have played it some more but so far I am liking it, it really gets my heart rate up.

Saturday nights are often our treat nights and today we felt like pizza. As we had loads of veggies to use up in the fridge it seemed like a good idea. I decided to use up a bag of pizza mix from the back of the cupboard. Here are the base ingredients

DSC00620I prepped a load of veggies for the pizzas so we could each load our own sides

DSC00618

We had spinach, green pepper, baby corn, tomato, mushroom, red onion and cheese

Here is the finished dough

DSC00619

And here is the loaded pizza ready for the oven

DSC00617Mine is the left side (can you see the need row of green peppers marking the half way point?? πŸ™‚

I loaded high with a selection of all the veggies

And out of the oven

DSC00616

Yum yum πŸ™‚ Each side was split into 6 slices and we ate 4 each. Expect to see the other 2 making an appearance at lunch tomorrow

DSC00615Also on the plate was a couple of chunks of garlic bread and some salad.

It was amazing, we ate it in front of the new Graham Norton Saturday night show, it was quite entertaining. Its nice to have something other than talent shows to watch on a Saturday night (although I do love the talent shows too!). Now I have settled down with the laptop to blog and watch Michael McIntyre on BBC1. If you haven’t seen any of his comedy I would recommend looking him up πŸ™‚

Enjoy your Saturday night. Finger crossed for better weather tomorrow

5 responses to “Green Monster and pizza – bliss!!

  1. What a healthy pizza! was it filling? Pizza never seems to fill me up 😦 no volume i guess!

    • Hi April,
      Yeah I did find it quite filling actually. I think it was all the veggies I added (oh and I forgot to mention the beer I drank with it!! πŸ™‚ )

  2. Awesome GM! Try freezing the banana for your next one…I swear it makes it creamier πŸ™‚

    • Ooh that sounds like a good idea Lara, thanks I will try it. I have some ripe bananas in my freezer at the moment that had been destined for muffins but I think I will try them in a GM instead. Imagine me choosing a smoothie over a cake!!! πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Oh She Glows » Blog Archive » My Ode To Green Monsters

Leave a Reply

