Bank Holiday fun!

Hiya everybody. I can’t believe it has been two days since I posted. Such a lot has happened this weekend but I’m afraid I have been bad at taking pictures. So a quick recap of the weekend:

Saturday: We ordered our wedding rings!!!!! We looked in a few shops last week but one stood out and we have been talking about the rings we found all week! So on Saturday we went back to the shop and ordered them – I’m so relieved to have them sorted. Hopefully they will only take 2-3 weeks to arrive. I can’t believe I can’t wear it until September 😦

We also spent some time with the future in-laws on Saturday night. We ate stir fry and watched Britains Got Talent – it was a great night!

*******************************************

Sunday: Sunday morning we did a lot of work in the front garden which has started to get over-run. We cleared a lot of ground and left the garden ready to be graveled later. We plan to keep it low maintenance by putting gravel down instead of flower beds and adding some pots for a bit of colour.

The sun was really hot so we worked until midday and then went indoors to shower and cool down. I think we may have spent too long in the sun though as through the afternoon h2b started to feel unwell and was ill all afternoon and night 😦 Poor thing. Thankfully he is feeling a lot better today.  

*******************************************

Monday: As yesterday went of track for us we decided to make the most of today. As h2b was feeling much better he wanted to eat(!) so much of the day centred around food 🙂

We headed out to Darts Farm, a local farm shop and restaurant, for breakfast. I had 2 poached eggs on granary toast (no spread) and grilled tomatoes. I also had a cup of tea. It was delicious, the eggs were just as I like them with bright yellow runny yolks.  

 

DSC00199

From there we headed off to Morrisons for some supermarked shopping. We don’t have a Morrisons in Exeter so we drove to Tiverton. We stocked up on all the usuals plus a few treats we had not seen before. I’m sure you will be seeing them as I use them this week! 

The produce aisle is was brilliant and I picked up some colourful fruits; cherries, strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and apples. Doesn’t it look pretty!

DSC00197

By the time we got home it was nearly 2pm and we wanted a quick lunch so we had these square crumpets with a little Flora Buttery and raspberry jam. 

DSC00198

As the sun was shining we decided to make the most of the weather and head down to the quay for a walk. We love going down there when the sun is shining!

We parked up and went on a 1.5 mile walk along the river. We met up with some friends at a pub down on the quay and I enjoyed a vodka, lime and lemonade while watching the boats on the water. After a couple of hours we walked back the 1.5 miles to the car. 

DSC00196

By this point it was about 7pm and too late to cook the meal we had planned so we decided to carry on the fun and head to a restaurant for dinner. The tea we had planned will probably feature tomorrow! We drove to a pub in the city centre, the White Hart, and ordered food. I went for the grilled goats cheese salad. I had a thick slice of goats cheese on toasted ciabatta over a bed of lettuce, onion, cucumber and tomato with a balsamic reduction. You can see h2b’s chicken melt and chips in the background and we shared the onion rings too! Yum yum 🙂

DSC00195Off to iron some clothes ready for work tomorrow. We are going away for the weekend to Weymouth in Dorset with family so our evenings this week will be spent getting ready.

Hope you had a great Bank Holiday too 🙂

Jo xx

 

2 responses to “Bank Holiday fun!

  1. Sounds like a great weekend! I’m lovin’ the sunshine, too 🙂 Would you believe I’ve never had a crumpet?! I can’t leave Britain without trying one!!

    When is your wedding? Have I asked you that already? How exciting!

    You can totally do the crap-free week! A lot of bloggers have been doing it and you can kind of make your own guidelines to make it do-able and realistic. I’m still thinking it over before I commit but I definitely need to re-focus and take on a new “project”.

  2. YAY wedding rings!! My sis is getting married in Oct and they just picked up their rings too. 🙂

    Ah, krumpets. Yum. And as an American, I adore seeeing fries called “chips” and chips (potato chips) called “crisps” (right?)!

Leave a Reply

