Friendly Advice

I felt really hungry all day today. I seriously think I could have eaten non stop and not felt satisfied 😦 How does that fit in with Intuitive Eating – should I have let myself keep eating or does it indicate I was eating the wrong things? Or more likely that I am not interpreting my bodies signals correctly and it was not true hunger I was feeling? Either way I knew I was starting off on the wrong foot as we ran late this morning and I didn’t have time to make breakfast to bring. I know I know, I need to get more organised so that I don’t leave myself in this position!!.

So for breakfast I was at the mercy of the work canteen – never a good thing. There were no yogurts this morning and the fresh fruit looked awful. I listened to my stomach and went for a bacon roll as I knew it would keep me full for most of the morning.

Well that was the plan. At around 11am I grabbed a couple of biscuits with a cup of tea in my meeting. I guess the two biscuits came in at around 150cals and it didn’t sustain me for long.

By the time 1pm came and it was time for lunch I was starving! One cheese and pickle sandwich and a packet of Snack a Jacks Salt and Vinegar popcorn later and the hunger had subsided for a while.

Mid afternoon I resisted the lure of the chocolate machine and snacked on a handful of yogurt coated raisins.

Dinner tonight was a freezer special – frozen bolognaise sauce over wholewheat pasta with salad leaves and avocado. A touch of parmesan cheese and some black pepper finished it off. Mmmmm that was tasty!

DSC00111

We needed some bits from Tesco so after dinner we decided to walk over. Its about a 15 minute walk from home and the added bonus is that we can’t buy more than we can carry home! It was a lovely evening with the sun shining and we enjoyed the walk.

While we were there we picked up pudding. I got this chocolate desert.

DSC00116

It was nice and felt very indulgent!

DSC00117

Thats me done for the day. Nicely full now!

******************************************

I had an interesting conversation with a friend today about dieting. She wants to lose weight but has tried all the usual diets before and found only short term success. She was asking me for advice on how to go about losing weight. I found it quite difficult to offer advice as I have pretty much rejected the idea of dieting in favour of ‘balanced healthy eating’. But although I have rejected the popular diets at this stage in my journey I don’t think that I would be where I am now without having learnt some basic lessons from them.

What did I learn from popular diets which I find useful today? Firstly portion control. I tried WW, Slimming World, Rosemary Conley and calorie counting in my weight loss past but something they all had in common was portion control. I remember being amazed when I weighed out a ‘portion’ of pasta when I joined WW for the first time. It must have been half the size of the portions I was dishing up for myself normally. You know that thing where you put a couple of handfuls of pasta in a pan and then think “That doesn’t look like much, I’ll add another handful to be safe”. Then it cooks, swells up to fill the pan but you still manage to dish it up and eat it between two of you!! I learnt to read the portion sizes on packets and stick to them (ever compared the 35g portion of cereal on the box to the mound you would pour straight from the pack?). Although I no longer weigh all my food I keep in mind these guidelines and every now and then weigh a portion to compare to the recommended pack size.

Secondly, I learnt to balance my plate to keep the calories/points or whatever I was counting low. What I mean by this is that there is no problem with having a slice of meaty cheesey pizza for dinner once in a while if that is what you really want, but as it is high in calories/points you need to balance this with low calorie/point sides. So instead of eating half a pizza which would blow the point ‘budget’ I would have one slice with a large salad on the side and fruit for desert so that while the pizza may be ‘expensive’ on its own, the whole dinner can come out at a reasonable point ‘cost’. Basic concepts really I know but an important point in my healthy eating education. There is nothing wrong with eating these types of food but if it can be contained within a balanced eating plan it doesn’t have to stop you losing weight.

So what advice to give a friend who I suspect has not had the experiences to teach her these lessons yet? I gave her the benefits of a calorie counting plan combined with upping the intake of veggies and salads and giving preference to foods which are filling. Advised her to cook from scratch and focus on healthy fresh ingredients with occasional treats (I wish I was following my own advice at the moment!). I will collect a selection of my favourite recipes to give her tomorrow for ideas and recommend some good recipe idea sites for inspiration!

What advice would you offer to a friend trying to lose weight?

******************************************

While I was reading the news online over lunchtime I came across this article

I thought the story was amazing and emphasises the ability of the mind to control the body. How incredible that she could be convinced that she was full after a small meal when in reality she had the same capacity to eat as before. Thankfully I have never needed to consider a gastric band but I know people who have and there are some scary risks involved so I think this could be a really interesting idea.

I truly believe that your mind can influence your body in an amazing way. I have always been reluctant to take medicines unless I really need to but a few years ago I had a phase where I got a lot of headaches and I tried to resist taking painkillers for them. Instead when I felt the start of a headache I would go to a quiet room, draw the curtains and lie down. For 5-10 minutes I would breathe deeply and consciously, and visualise relaxing locations. In every case the headache disappeared within this time and left me feeling calm and relaxed. If I had taken some pills and carried on rushing about I am sure the effect would not have been the same! I still do this, when I feel pain (headache or other) I take this quiet time to focus my way past it. I really believe in the benefits of meditation and plan to do some more reading and posting on this.

2 responses to “Friendly Advice

  1. HI!
    I don’t know what 4 “stones” means in your about section, but it sounds like a lot?

    I’ve always been a little chunky. (about 10-12lbs over) and then I had kids, and between I added weight, and after I added weight. So, now I’m looking at 20-30lbs that I could probably stand to lose.

    About a month ago, I went to a local YMCA event, and met a great gal. She is a HEALTH COACH and I didn’t know what that was. Well, she started tell me about her program, and was so excited that I had to give it a try.

    I’m kind of skeptical and always refused to jump on any diet wagon. I just tried to reduce calories on my own to ensure my 10+ pounds didn’t turn into 15+ except now I’m beyond that! Well, this program is a life style change and I was curious.

    I’m blogging about my journey, included with photos, measurements, and weight, as well as, the good and the bad to make it honest. I want my readers to see whether or not the program truly works.

    My first week, down 5.5lbs. In middle of my 2nd week, and I’m now 7.5lbs lighter and my blog is due on Monday. I might reach the 10lbs in 2 weeks! I’m not hungry. In fact, I have a little difficulty in eating all the meals. 5 & 1- 5 soy based supplement meals with 1 lean and green of your own cooking.

    Once you met your goal weight, the Health Coach assists you in removing 1 supplement meal and adding a healthy grocery item. The suppplement meals are not to be on forever, but they train you to maintain your own weight on regular food!

    Sounds good to me!
    If you want to follow my journey:
    http://www.tolduso.wordpress.com

    Sandi Ormsby

  2. Oh geez…I wish I could give you some advice on this. I am still in the middle of “Intuitive Eating,” and I’m taking it slow because I just don’t know if I can handle the book’s concepts yet. During my weight loss I didn’t count calories but I definitely didn’t eat intuitively…I just wasn’t ready to go “full on” with no rules!

Leave a Reply

