Whirlwind Weekend

Wow, I can’t believe I haven’t blogged since Thursday! Sorry guys, but sometimes life will get in the way 🙂 And I don’t yet feel confident enough to let people know that I am blogging so i don’t have a weekends worth of pictures to show.

Friday

After my realisations from Thursday I focused really hard on keeping Friday healthy. I started the day with some grilled bacon in a roll at work which kept me going until lunchtime. Then I ate a tortilla wrap with cajun chicken, lettuce and cucumber (no mayo) followed by an afternoon snack of a Summer Fruits Alpen bar.

We had plans for Friday night to go to the cinema and for a meal with family so when I got home from work I had this bowl to tide me over.

DSC00017

Cereal and Total 0% Greek Yogurt with honey. The cereal is a new find: Weetabix Crunchy Bran

Weetabix Crunchy Bran

I loved this cereal, the flakes have a really nice bran taste but are quite thick and stay crunchy in the yogurt, yummy!

In the evening we went to Wagamama for dinner where I had a wonderful wholewheat noodle stirfry. Then it was off to the cinema for Star Trek with a small scoop of Ben and Jerry’s Chocolate Brownie frozen yogurt. The film was amazing – the effects were fantastic and I thought all the actors were brilliant, expecially Zachary Quinto as Spock! Can’t wait for it to be out on DVD 🙂

**********************************************************

Saturday

On Saturday we had a friend to stay and also caught up with a friend who lives in the North of England and we don’t get to see very often 😦 We had a great day – walking, talking, eating and drinking. The highlight was lunch in La Tasca, a Tapas restaurant. Although we ate out a couple of times I was able to keep things healthy – having a little of what I fancied and filling up on veggies. I also avoided the drink on Saturday by offering to drive so I kept level headed and got some brownie points from OH and our friends as they could drink!

On Saturday night we were all tired so decided to rent a movie – Burn After Reading with George Clooney and Brad Pitt. The film was funny but a bit dark at the same time.  Still we all enjoyed it!

**********************************************************

Sunday

Today I woke up around 8am but as OH and our friend were still in bed I decided to sneak downstairs and catch up on some blogs on the laptop. They finally surfaced around 10am(!!!) and we all had breakfast.

Brekkie 100509
Weetabix Crunchy Bran, Cheerios, Total 0% Greek Yogurt, Blueberries and honey.

Then after our friend had packed up we headed out to the pub by the train station to have some lunch and then see him off. The pub is a Wetherspoons and the guys had amazing looking burgers which were huge! I settled for the Chilli Con Carne and rice which was marked on the menu as less that 5% fat. It was yummy with a blob of sour cream and a small handfull of tortilla chips. I may also have pinched an onion ring off OH plate too! I drank a Corona with lime to keep the Mexican theme going.

After we saw off our friend we headed over to the local ice cream parlour for a yummy scoop of icecream. I had one scoop of Tirimisu flavour in a tub which was amazing! We also called in at Lidl for a few items

DSC00023I got some 0.1% yogurt, vanilla rooibos tea to try, honey and dark chocolate.

When we got home we were hungry and as we wanted to leave dinner til later we had a snack.

Snack 100509

Red Pepper Houmous and Breadsticks. I had 4 breadsticks and a generous tablespoon of houmous

Snack 2 100509

That kept me nicely full until tea time. I craved something salty and bacon seemed to fit the bill. I had grilled bacon on a split toasted muffin.

DSC00034

Off to watch Lost in a minute with a cup of Vanilla Rooibos tea and a piece of dark chocolate.

DSC00033

I’ll let you know how the tea is tomorrow – it smells amazing!

Jo x

One response to “Whirlwind Weekend

  1. I just discovered that cereal recently, too! I love it because it doesn’t get all soggy like original Weetabix! And it’s great on yogurt 🙂

Leave a Reply

