Brilliant Bank Holiday!

Wow we have had a great Bank Holiday weekend, although rather busy!

Last night we went over to my future MIL’s  house for dinner and had Roast Lamb, roast potatoes, new potatoes, roast parsnips, yorkshire pudding and loads of veggies. It was delicious. Then we all sat and played cards for a couple of hours. Lots of fun 🙂

We had an early night last night as we had been up so early but not before watching Lost on Sky1. Wow the series is getting good and I can’t wait for the last couple of episodes – so many questions to be answered!

Before I get to today I can’t believe I forgot to check in with my weigh in on Saturday morning! I have decided to keep a weekly check on my weight and am hoping that I can slowly lose some weight with a combination of healthy sensible eating and excercise. I will try this for a couple of weeks and if I am not seeing a loss I will go back to proper calorie counting. The truth is that I find I focus of food way too much and start to have an unhealthy obsession with the numbers when I count calories so I will try to stay away for now. We’ll have to see whether the blog offers enough accountability to keep me on track. So my weigh in – 172.7lb (equal to my lowest, 6 weeks ago).

Woke this morning at 8am, and unfortunately the sun wasn’t shining – typical Bank Holiday weather 😦

This is breakfast:

breakfast-0405091

2 Weetabix bisuits with milk, a small handful of Special K for crunch and a drizzle of honey for sweetness. On the side is a bowl of melon cubes and a Redbush tea with citrus. I liked the tea but I still prefer a Green tea with my breakfast.

I have been patiently waiting all week for my melon to ripen and today was the day. I prepped the whole thing for easy eating over the next few days.

melon-0405091

We spent the morning catching up on chores and at about 11.45 I got in the car to pick up my friend who I was meeting for lunch. We had a yummy lunch (scampi and salad in a great pub) and a good long chat!

By the time I got home it was nearly 4pm! Where did the day go? I did some wedding tasks and sent OH out to post the last batch of invitations – boy am I glad they are done! The day invites at least. In a month or so I will have to do the same again for the evening invites.

I really shouldn’t have needed a proper meal at dinner time but this had been planned all weekend! A cheese, bacon, pepper and shallot quiche with baby jacket potatoes and salad. I tried a new recipe which used low fat creme fraiche and skimmed milk with the egg mix. It was lovely – really creamy. I will definately try this again!

dinner-2-0405092

Yum yum. There are plenty of left overs for tomorrow so this or something similar will probably make an appearance again 🙂

Off to find something to watch on telly now and maybe snack on some more melon! Back to work tomorrow 😦

Jo xx

2 responses to “Brilliant Bank Holiday!

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading more of yours!

  2. I am a total Lost addict so I can relate 😉 Sounds like a fun weekend. That fresh mellon is making me want to go out and get one!

Leave a Reply

