Bloggers Question Time – Heather Eats Almond Butter

Today I have another Bloggers Question time, this time featuring Heather from Heather Eats Almond Butter.

Read on to discover why Heather started blogging, her views on sugar and why she will always return your calls!

1) How long have you been blogging and what made you start?

I started blogging back in November 2008, so a little over 1 year. I began reading a few fitness blogs in the summer of ’08, and one of them linked to a food blog. I clicked on the link and found myself at katheats.com. I remember saying out loud to my husband, this is the most bizarre thing I’ve ever seen. This girl posts everything she eats for the world to see. I soon myself checking back everyday to see what Kath would put in her oats or what she would make for lunch, and through her blog, I discovered other food and exercise blogs. Because I couldn’t really find a health blog written by someone who had lost an extreme amount of weight through diet and exercise, I decided to start on myself to share my own story and help others.

2) How would you describe your blog?

It’s all about the weird recipes I make in my Vita-Mix. Hehe, just kidding…well, sort of. :)  It’s just about me, living my life, what I eat, and how I move my body with a little humor from my husband thrown in the mix.

3) What is your food philosophy?

I really don’t like to put any labels on the way I eat, but I guess my food philosophy would be whole foods, lots of veggies, proteins, fat, and no sugar. Sugar is the one thing I don’t do. It’s the one food that has no place in our diet.

4) What is the one food you could not live without?

Nut butter. :)

5) Have you ever had a weight issue and if so how did you overcome it?

Yes, I was overweight from the time I was young up until my early 20′s when I lost 100+ pounds through diet and exercise, and I’ve kept all the weight off for 10 years.

6) What meal would best sum up your approach to eating?

A huge bowl of vegetables and shrimp stir-fried in coconut oil with a drizzle of tahini dressing. 

7) What is your fitness regime?

I do yoga 5 to 6 days a week as well as walk and hike. However, this month, I’m working with an online personal trainer and doing more strength training and HIIT type workouts. It’s fun to shake things up every once in a while. I like to keep my workouts exciting so that I’ll look forward to them. It’s no fun to dread exercise.

8 ) What is the biggest physical challenge you have faced?
I did a 50K (31 miles) trail race back in 2004. It was in the mountains of Chattanooga, TN, and I used to spend hours just running on local trains training for it. The training was great, but the race itself was awful. It poured rain all day, and I lost the trail at one point. I was out there for about 8 hours. I promised myself I would never sign up for another one again! 

9) What is your favourite blog to read?

Honestly, there are too  many great ones out there. I could never pick just one.

10) What is the best piece of advice you have ever been given?

From my Dad: Money does not grow on trees, life isn’t fair, and ALWAYS return your phone calls. 

Thanks for taking part Heather!

If you want to be part of Bloggers Question Time please send me an email atseekinghealthybalance@gmail.com!

7 responses to “Bloggers Question Time – Heather Eats Almond Butter

  1. Great interview!! :D

  2. Milia Monacia

    Great interview Heather! Nice to learn a bit more about your blogging reasons and food answers.

  3. Fab interview indeed! That trail race must have been a killer!

  4. love me some HEABs! great interview!

  5. Pingback: CD’s Chocolate Concoction « Heather Eats Almond Butter

  6. Love this :D

  7. Yay Heabie! Great advice from your daddy. Returning phone calls is easy…it’s the emails that kill us bloggers, right? ;)
    Thanks Jo for the interview–love this feature on your blog!

Leave a Reply

